Featured Slider

Book Review: The Wife Between Us


Book Review: The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen 


The premise of this book is captivating.


At first I think it's clear: A man left his wife for his assistant and the ex-wife is left devastated. The new bride is carried away in the new lavish lifestyle her husband-to-be is creating for her and she barely notices the subtle clues that someone is stalking her, watching her every move.

Nellie is cute, bubbly and everything that Vanessa used to be. The ex wife, Vanessa, is a recovering alcoholic living with her aunt, wondering how Richard could leave her. So she sets up on a mission to find out what Nellie has that she doesn't and to find a way to seek revenge.

If the book would have wrapped up after the first major twist in the middle of the book, I would have been impressed but the hits and twists just kept coming so it was impossible to put down.  


I think the twists and turns, plus the creepy narration from an unreliable character who is clearly losing her mind were all great. I was really hooked at first. But by the end, there was just too much going on.

It's fast-paced, creepy and so vivid that you may start to think you're even being stalked too...

It's very much like The Couple Next Door, My Husband's Wife and Lie to Me and and similar thrillers. Twisted, interesting and really great characters but just a little too drag towards the end. Still recommend it though!

Book Recommendation: The Thing With Feathers by McCall Hoyle



Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s home-schooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.
Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.
Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”
From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

My thoughts: 

Following along with Emilie on her journey as she learns how to cope with epilepsy and its impact on her life is heartbreaking but also hopeful. Can you imagine trying to keep such a major part of your life a secret? 

At it's core, The Thing With Feathers is a thoughtful YA book with complex characters and feel good relationships. But it also tackles some tough topics about health, insecurities and overcoming obstacles young kids shouldn't have to face alone. 

The characters are well-developed, even Emilie's dog and friends shine as secondary characters. 

This book talks about some really tough subjects but Hoyle writes with a reassurance and grace that made me want to keep reading. It's comforting knowing that YA books like exist out there to help younger generations learn how to cope and handle themselves in difficult situations. This story will surely give anyone reassurance that even in the worst of times, there is always someone, or something, to hold on, to work for and to better yourself for. 

This journey from despair to hope will definitely stick with you. 

Pick up a copy on Amazon or save it to your Goodreads List!  

Thank You HarperCollins for my copy! 


Book Review: The Best Kind of People by Zoe Whittall




"A timely novel about an accusation against a beloved schoolteacher and the repercussions on his loved ones, exploring issues of loyalty, truth, and the meaning of happiness through the lens of an all-American family on the brink of collapse."



This story, told from the perspectives of the family members of a man accused of sexual abuse of numerous teenage girls, gives a new side of all too familiar story. Unfortunately, this topic is something we have to face every day but this book really dives into what happens to the family structure of those who are left behind in the midst of the accusations and subsequent trial against their father, husband and friend. 

I really got into the family's feelings. I got it. I empathized with all of them, which I feel is sometimes difficult with multiple narrators but the author does a great job writing distinct voices for each: the mother, the daughter and the son of George Woodbury. 

The Woodburys are a well known family in a prominent part of town. George is a well known teacher and a community hero who once saved students from a school shooter. So people are beyond shocked when several girls from the high school accuse him of misconduct during a school sponsored ski trip. 

The struggles that his daughter, wife and son go through during the months leading up to his trial are heart wrenching. Who should they believe? Is George really capable of such crimes? When the seeds of doubt start the creep in, I didn't even know who I should believe either. You can feel the thousands of emotions pretty heavily as they experience the betrayal, shock, misunderstanding and confusion that they all feel. You'll be sad and get mad at the characters as they go up and down in their reactions to what is unraveling around them.

Well written and definitely recommended. 

I received this review from Ballantine Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.